IGNORED

Vectrex AY music to Intellivision?

I've been pondering this for several months now.. I'm not a programmer but I am a musician.

I love the Vectrex and Inty, plus the way the AY PSG sounds, it's my favorite. Anyways, there is a ton of very well done homebrew music on the Vectrex, so the million dollar question is:

Would it be possible to 'convert' over Vectrex tunes to play on the Inty since they have very similar chips.

The Inty with the AY-3-8914 and the Vectex with the AY-3-8912, this has to be possible I would assume.. then again you know what happens when you assume. Thats why I'm asking this question here, I hope someone can enlighten me. :)

I'd like to throw some tunes on a Inty Flashcart when the time comes, thats my main goal out of this.

Edited by SiLic0ne t0aD85

Does the Vectrex music use a generic format? I've understood there are YM tunes and such, for which there needs to be a player (or driver if you like) that playbacks the music data according to a given format. While I'm not terribly experienced in the AY/YM world and the implementations on different Z80, 6809, CP1610, 6502 etc systems, I believe the data format is closer to realtime register dumps than higher level notation that needs to be translated upon playback, which would make it easier to port playback routines.

E.g. in the C64 SID world, nearly every music program has its own music data format, which is why SID files actually are C64 executables with extra header information, and the player emulates both the sound chip, CPU, CIAs, RAM and even ROM for those BASIC programs. If we entertain the thought that a SID chip would be interfaced to the Intellivision, it would give us three opportunities:

1. Run the desired music files through a SID player that would create register dumps to playback

2. Write a partial C64 emulator in CP1610 assembly language (CPU, CIA, ROM, RAM at least)