IGNORED

Sample playback at 60hz

Tursi

Earlier this year I finally found a page that described FFTs in a way that made sense enough to me, and I started playing with audio conversion. I know it's been done before, but this is something I've wanted to attempt for many years.

After lots and lots of experimenting, I hit an unexpected result - I got (I think) recognizable voice out of it. There's a lot of work left before it's useful, but I wanted to post a sample.

It only has any luck right now on high pitched voices ('Let it Go' and 'Smile Smile Smile' work best), but it was interesting enough I thought I'd share a teaser. The converter itself is still not working well enough for a release (and perhaps it will never be more than a novelty, it's very noisy still).

The sample heard here takes 4606 bytes. It plays back by changing the sound generator settings 60 times a second, 11 bytes each time (so 660 bytes per second, though the 4606 bytes is 'compressed'. The output is too random for good compression, and in real usage probably would not be, but I had the compressed playback toolchain already written ;) ).

The program (and source to prove it) is here. I didn't include the WAV file since it bloats the zip, but I did include the VGM and you can play that in any VGM player to show it's not faked. ;) The file SOUNDSAMPLE in the zip is a TIFILES compatible file ready to copy to emulation or real hardware. (I haven't tried it on real hardware, if anyone does, can we get a video of that?)

convertsoundsample.zip

• Like 7