IGNORED

RS232 and CRU

Vorticon

Hi. I'd like to add a second RS232 card to my PEB. My first one lives at CRU>1300 and my IDE card at >1500. Is it correct that the second RS232 needs to be at >1500? Also how do I know the CRU address of all my cards (I have a Sid Master, a Rave speech, a SAMS and a p-code (the latter is irrelevant given that it takes over the system when on).

... Is it correct that the second RS232 needs to be at >1500? ...

I don't know that it “needs” to be there; but AFAIK, both the TI and CorComp cards only provide those two options with a jumper. It may be possible to use another CRU address; but, that would likely require some cutting and soldering. :grin:

...lee

Hi. I'd like to add a second RS232 card to my PEB. My first one lives at CRU>1300 and my IDE card at >1500. Is it correct that the second RS232 needs to be at >1500? Also how do I know the CRU address of all my cards (I have a Sid Master, a Rave speech, a SAMS and a p-code (the latter is irrelevant given that it takes over the system when on).

Use the program called DU2K (Disk Utilities 2000)

The first selection is for DISPLAY AVAILABLE DEVICES press it...

On the second screen you'll want to press the option "for DSR headers"

I'm not sure you can change the TI's RS-232 to anything other than >1300 or >1500 with just the resistor placement. Someone like Tursi will have to give you an answer on that. I suspect it's possible with a re-programmed chip, but that's just a guess on my part.

Here is what the display looks like on my system:

gallery_35324_1027_38176.jpg

Here is what Thierry says here: