IGNORED

Which drive: 1541-II or 1571?

I'm just getting started in the C64 world. I scored a C64c and I have an SD2IEC controller on the way.

But what's recommended for those times you need a real floppy drive? I gather that the 1541 is kinda of a dog, but the 1541-II and 1571 seem to be more popular.

The thing that worries me is this paragraph from Wikipedia:

"The 1571 is not 100% low-level compatible with the 1541, however this isn't a problem except in some software that uses advanced copy protections such as the RapidLok system found on Microprose and Accolade games."

I mean, damn, Microprose and Accolade had some serious games. I'd really prefer to be compatible with them. Or is this not a big deal?

Thanks,

- Joe

All three drives have basically the same read speed. Get an EPYX Fast Load cart. I like the swing arm design better then the drop down flap of the early models.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commodore_1571

The Commodore 1571 is Commodore's high-end 5¼" floppy disk drive. With its double-sided drive mechanism, it has the ability to use double-sided, double-density (DS/DD) floppy disks natively. This is in contrast to its predecessors, the 1541 and 1570, which can fully read and write such disks only if the user manually flipped them over to access the second side. Because flipping the disk also reverses the direction of rotation, the two methods are not interchangeable; disks which had their back side created in a 1541 by flipping them over would have to be flipped in the 1571 too, and the back side of disks written in a 1571 using the native support for two-sided operation could not be read in a 1541.

The 1571 was designed to accommodate the C128's "burst" mode for 2x faster disk access, however the drive cannot use it if connected to older Commodore machines.

• Like 1