IGNORED

New 2-Port (So Long, Switchbox Blues)

mikey.shake

Hey everyone!

Longtime reader, semi-recent convert. I picked up both a 7800 and 5200 cheap this past year, and while I expected to love the 7800 due to limited childhood experience, it was the 5200 that won my heart. Almost every game I tried felt like everything I loved about pre-NES console gaming, and I was stunned to discover how much it appealed to me after the bad rap it had. I got it on a lark being such a fan of the 2600 and the early-'80s era, but I've probably played it more than almost any other console this year.

I'm a writer, so I tend to chronicle stuff. When I got the 5200 (a 4-port), I was having a little trouble with the power supply, but that cleared everything up for a while and everything was retro gaming bliss.

Then it turned out that the switchbox I'd gotten was funky. Blew a chip, then would fritz out. I planned on doing the power mod, but once I opened it up I saw that a previous owner had modded it for (what others told me) was the 2600-adapter mod. So I wasn't about to power mod it after that. I ended up going out, buying some supplies, and building my own power/video I/O box (there's not any real "switch"), and that worked great.

(link)

I also found a Competition Pro at a local shop, and that changed almost every problem I was having with the joysticks -- digital control made my favorite games even better. About as good as I could imagine them.