IGNORED

Help me incorporate a paddle controller into a 7800 arcade stick

GoldenWheels

I've been having a fun making 7800 arcade sticks lately.

I'd like to build one which incorporates a paddle controller. I simply have no idea how to wire it.

I'd also like to avoid cannibalizing a pair of paddle controllers to do this, so if anyone can show me where to get parts for the paddle bit, that would be awesome. I don't even really know what the things are actually called...a potentiometer I think?

Ideally I'd like this to use one of the two existing buttons on the stick....though I could add a third "paddle" button if need be.

I'm not experienced at this stuff but am willing to learn.

I don't think that's going to be possible, unless you use the 2nd port for the paddles. Reason being that the 7800 left and right fire buttons use the paddle signal lines. That's part of the reason I use the 2nd player port for the paddles in my games (the other reason is for the High Score Cart).

Also, the paddle buttons map to left and right on the joystick (one for each paddle).

:(

• Like 1

I don't think that's going to be possible, unless you use the 2nd port for the paddles. Reason being that the 7800 left and right fire buttons use the paddle signal lines. That's part of the reason I use the 2nd player port for the paddles in my games (the other reason is for the High Score Cart).

Also, the paddle buttons map to left and right on the joystick (one for each paddle).

Jeez...I had not even thought of that. I've been looking at 2600 diagrams and how people have made their own combo controller for it, not even realizing that those lines are already used for the 7800. D'oh. Well, thank for pointing out the obvious to me PMP, someone had to!

I could make it a 2600 controller only I guess, but that's not how I roll. 7800 two button or bust.

you'd have to include a selector switch to go between joystick mode and paddle mode.