IGNORED

struggling with horizontal positioning/ hmove

easmith

Hi, I am a newbie this is my first post/ program.

I am struggling with figuring out the correct placement of HMOVE .

I have placed a sprite , but I want to move it 3 pixels to the left . When I try to load the offset , do WSYNC and then HMOVE immediately after RESP0 I get a crazy flickering screen.

can someone please help ? Does the HMOVE need t be done on each sprite scanline or once per frame? If once per frame , then where should it be placed?

I have seen several examples of algorithms for fine horizontal placement but cannot get these to work correctly either. Perhaps it has to do with the fact that I am wasting my VBLANK periods by not using timer.

Sorry for so many questions... code is attached

borderwcatfine6.asm

Edited by easmith

When you're starting out you should position your objects during Vertical Blank. Do a single WSYNC HMOVE after you've strobed all the RESxx and set all the HMxx registers for the objects you are using.

Work your way through the tutorial in my blog, be sure to download the source for each step as there's a bunch of comments in the source code explaining it. Also check the comments below each entry as they may contain answers to questions you have (if not, be sure to post a question!). X and Y positioning of the players is covered in steps 4 & 5, but be sure to go through the prior steps as they contain important info that you'll need to know.

• Like 1

Spiceware's code is really great for this.

You position the Horizontal Position before hand then the Sprite Draw Pointer (and some incidental kernel code) handles the vertical drawing.

thanks, I'll take a look. I think I am confused about how you can position a player before you arrive at the lines where the player will be drawn.