IGNORED

Atari 800 Graphics Glitch

Novarolla05

Hello all, this is my first post to this forum, but I've been reading and learning a lot here for quite a while, so thank you all for that!

I'm pretty new to the A8 line, and finally got my first one, a plain 800, 48k, and 810 drive. Everything worked fine at first, then I noticed some games had a single column of triangles and random artifacts near the right side of the screen. Not every game did this. The ones I have that do are Pole Position, Frogger, and Blue Max (most obvious). Frogger is the hardest to notice, it shows up as "gaps" in the logs/turtles. I figured it might be some bad RAM, so I swapped out for known good RAM, and the problem on all games is still there. I've inspected pins, and re-seated every chip in the thing twice. My next guess would be either something on the OS board or the processor board, but I have zero experience and limited diagnostic tools.

Not sure if it's related, but the mountains in Rescue on Fractalus are all sorts of messed up. Could just be a bad .atr file though...

Just trying to get some expert opinions before I just start replacing every chip/board one at a time. I can take more pics if needed. Thanks in advance for advice anyone might have!

-Rich

IMG_2268.JPG

IMG_2269.JPG

IMG_2270.JPG

Mhmm... surprised that 15 hours have passed and not a single answer.

If I were you, I would jump straight to CPU board, and check ANTIC, 6502 and GTIA, in that order.

My pick would be ANTIC chip. A spare CPU board could allow you to  diagnose quickly and safely, before you start dealing with chip pulling, which needs to be done carefully so the underlying sockets don't come off their pins (I have seen this a few times, maybe due to age, etc.)

• Like 2

Thank you all for the responses! I had a feeling it might be something on the processor board, I just like to be methodical, and get other's opinions before I just start throwing parts at it ?