IGNORED

New IIgs and a new video about using ADTPro

Armitage

Hey all, I recently picked up a IIgs on eBay but it didn't come with any software. I quickly learned about ADTPro and how it can be used to bootstrap the machine when you don't own any other Apple systems or drives and I made a short video about on my brand new youtube channel. Since I'm new to both vintage Apples and youtube, I would appreciate your constructive criticism and support. Thanks and enjoy!

Nice job!

A more expensive but easier way to get things from a modern computer to your IIgs is by using the Floppy Emu from BMOW which can emulate both a 3.5" disk drive and a HD.  You can also use a HD emulator like the Booti, and even copy individual files by mounting the HD image in an emulator like Sweet16 on a modern Mac.  And if you really want to get into it, get an Uthernet II card and set up A2SERVER on a Raspberry Pi (or get on my server below) which the Apple IIgs and modern computers can connect to.

Awesome, glad you enjoyed it and thanks for the tips! I just learned about the Booti the other day from a Reddit post, but they were out of stock :( I am definitely looking at upgrade paths for the machine. So far, I've replaced the factory 1MB card with a 4MB card from GGlabs and got the original RLL hard drive up and running again. Many of my other machines have some form of modern sdcard or usb-based storage solutions so I definitely want to do the same for the IIgs.

BTW: I have all my vintage machines connected to a switched WiModem232 and I see you run a board so I'd like to give it a ring. Is there a particular terminal program you would recommend? I used to use one called Talk is Cheap on my //c back in the day, but I imagine there must be more advanced options available the the gs.

2 minutes ago, Armitage said: