IGNORED

Jaguar won't start the game/boot - Please Help !!

jagr_man

Hello Folks,

Newbie here, with a serious problem:

Bought a Jag on a flee-market, looks good at a glance (both in and out), but the games won't start, it will not boot ?!?

The Power's ok I think (green light goes on), but than no Jaguar boot screen etc.

- tried cleaning the contacts a bit (no succes)

- games are fine, checked with a friend.

- The metal inside looks to never have been opened.....so strange there4.

Actually my jag shows the same screen when powered on as a "good" jag, but it simply won't "continue" 2 the Atari Logo etc.??

Please help me, cuz I sure would like 2 play it.

Thanx

First lets make sure you know what to expect; a Jaguar base unit with a cartridge plugged in will have the Atari Letters drop down and a red Jaguar logo zoom in with the cube/w picture of a jaguar spinning before the cartridge starts. With the JagCD plugged into the base unit, you no longer get that screen at all, just a Red/glowing jaguar logo with a random lightshow behind it. If you have a Jaguar cd game in it, the game should load, generally showing a "licensed by Atari" "plaque" before the main game screen, if it's not reading the disc right or if no disc is in it, a flashing picture of a CD with a question mark on it will appear. Lets start with that in our process of elimination here, just to make sure you know what to expect to see...

Hey Gunstar,

Sorry man...misunderstanding, shouldn't 've used the word boot, cuz I am just talkin about a regular jaguar game (cart).

I put in the cart, turn the jag on, >>> black screen, and nothing.....

If I leave it on, "snowy" static looking dots present themselfves on my TV or sometimes vertical lines and even color-ish distortions, but the game will not start and the cube with the (animal)jaguar never appears.

Hey Gunstar,

Sorry man...misunderstanding, shouldn't 've used the word boot, cuz I am just talkin about a regular jaguar game (cart).