IGNORED

Wizzy on the 7800?

karri

Hi guys,

I have been chatting with @gambler172 about retro stuff for a long time. Actually after we met in real life at eJagfest.

Currently I am working on a small adventure game called Wizzy for the Atari Lynx. As the 7800 appears to also have a 160 pixel wide screen mode I was wondering if it would be possible to create the game on that platform as well.

I know that there is much less colours available. But as the graphics would have the same resolution it would not be a job to re-draw everything just re-colour the graphics.

My code is mainly in cc65 and I found out that there was a cc65 port a few years ago for robots and kittens. Today I tried to create a new target for cc65 and it appers to compile it. The reason why I want to use cc65 is that I am familiar with overloading segments in the cc65. And if I undestands correctly there is 16k banks in 7800 that would work in the same way.

But I am a complete novice as 7800 is concerned. The game is more like a text game with a long storyline. There is just one character on screen plus a few enemies or npc's. Currently I am loading stuff from the cart whenever the animation changes or the girl moves around. So there is a lot of read-only data. Actually the whole point of the game is to navigate between independent instances of tilemaps.

The system uses only a joystick and two buttons. A third control for "next skill" could be useful in later episodes.

Before I dive too deep in this I wonder if this is realistic at all? Any pointers to the right direction are greatly appreciated.

Here is a small video of the first seconds of the game in progress.

• Like 12

14 minutes ago, gambler172 said:

For next skill, maybe use SELECT ?

Nope. All the skills are already implemented and the animations are done. You only have the 1st skill which is the witch + broom. And throwing acorns of course.