IGNORED

N00b questions about Pitfall Hack starting point...

Hello, folks!  First post for a complete noob.  I've recently gotten the bug to try and code a bit for the first time in decades (my last attempt was on an Apple IIe school computer when it was the defacto standard!) and decided to start with the Atari 2600.  I've been reading threads here and watching youtube videos and had a few questions to start out with.

Is an existing game "hack" a good first step?  I've been considering modding/hacking Pitfall just to get the creative juices flowing but didn't know if that was a good place to start.  I figure changing up a few sprites and visuals before (hopefully) graduating to maybe tweaking a basic mechanic would be a realistic goal for someone as out of practice as myself.  If that doesn't discourage me then I could either graduate to Batari or coding something very simple the traditional way.  I've found and downloaded some annotated code for Pitfall so hopefully starting with cut/pasting sprite data might work.

Assuming the above isn't a bad idea, I do have some basic questions about my source game, Pitfall.  I've been using Stella dev mode and did see that the ladder and rope seem to be built by using the ball sprite.  Are either missile sprites used at all in the game?  If not, was there a reason why?  I was considering using the ball sprites to add a second color to creatures (using the player 1 missile for player 0 and vice versa since they use the default colors).  I don't plan on adding any "shooting" to the game and I assume (yikes!) you can just ignore collision but I don't know if there is something I'm missing with "attaching" the opposite missile to the other sprite in terms of clock cycles.  I'm incredibly surprised at 8blit's video tutorials showing that just drawing the two main sprites seems to use up all the clock cycles for the line they're actively drawn on.

Thanks in advance!

• 2 weeks later...