IGNORED

PC/PCI (or) SB-LINK?

I only just found out about this type of connection recently, and from what I have been reading it somehow it creates better ISA sound card support for PCI based sound cards. But I am new to this entirely and have never used the feature.

Recently I won a Crystal 4280 based PCI sound card (I am a big fan of Crystal cards BTW...I use them in almost all of my machines!) and I noticed it does have the six pin header for "PC/PCI" And, the motherboard I have coming advertises that it includes the feature as well.

So my first thought is to either obtain or build a cable to join these two together! Why? I dunno...that is why I am asking...hah!

What does this do exactly? I mean these cards already have drivers for SB Pro and SB16 emulation and it works in DOS. What is this for? Does anyone have experience using it?

Edited by eightbit

It's a 6-ish pin IDC connector on the SB-LIVE! (and other PCI cards that supported it), and on the motherboard. A pigtail connects them.

I have never used it. Not all motherboards from the era even supported it.

08.jpgabit-011.jpg

It was for getting around the differences between ISA DMA and PCI DMA, as well as ISA IRQ and PCI IRQ, so that PCI cards could more effectively emulate ISA ones.

From here:

The SB-link directs signals from the ISA bus to the PCI soundcard through a cable which comes with the PCI soundcard. This is because some DOS based games address the ISA bus directly.

But who plays DOS games?.

The official explanation of SB-Link, as posted on Creative's site is as follows (I don't think you really want to know, but..)