IGNORED

Concerto and Pokey Chip

Lymang

I received my Concerto very quickly, but was a bit nonplussed by the absence of any install/manual/paperwork of any kind.  Thankfully these forums provided enough info, and I just hoped for the best with a rom pack by Trebor and managed to get it up and running.  I see it had the latest firmware already that the forums were showing, probably due to receiving the cart in the last week.

I have two extra loose Ballblazer red label carts so I thought I could extract the Pokey out of it to put in the Concerto.  I was massively naive and assumed I could just pull the chip out of the socket on the cart's pcb and voila, but of course I discovered the chip is soldered to the cart pcb.  

So a few questions:

1.  It says "7800 Pokey Cart Rev A" on the pcb.  I assume that is appropriate for the POKEY needed on the Concerto?

2.  I have very little soldering experience, but I do have the equipment.  How hard should it be for me to desolder the chip from the cart?  

Thanks in advance for any assistance.  

2 hours ago, Lymang said:

So a few questions:

1.  It says "7800 Pokey Cart Rev A" on the pcb.  I assume that is appropriate for the POKEY needed on the Concerto?

2.  I have very little soldering experience, but I do have the equipment.  How hard should it be for me to desolder the chip from the cart?  

Ad 1) that should be the right POKEY

Ad 2) I would not try my first chip desoldering with my only POKEY. Even with a desoldering station that‘s not easy. 

• Like 1

9 hours ago, john_q_atari said:

regarding question 2, I think that is a recipe for destroying the chip.

wait for the hokey:

Understood and thanks for the advice.  I did see the HOKEY topic but was unsure how long I’d be waiting for it. 
I will probably wait based on your feedback and others.

8 hours ago, slx said:

Ad 1) that should be the right POKEY