IGNORED

New Dev Questions

Karl G

Since I was gifted an Atari 800, I figure I should try my hand at developing for it. I'm experienced at 6502 assembly (mostly on the Atari 2600), but I have no experience with the Atari 8-bit line. I have a few questions:

• What assembler is recommended and/or the most popular for Atari 8-bit targets? I'm used to DASM, but I'm not limiting myself to that. My development computer is a Macbook for what it's worth.
  • What books/tutorials/other resources would you recommend for someone who knows 6502 assembly, but not Atari 8-bit programming specifically?
  • Are there any good "hello world" style code samples out there?

Thanks in advance for any information!

• Like 2

You might like perusing the VCS 2600 to 800 conversions, this can help you see what racing the beam looks like on the 8 bit, then check out the best homebrews and conversions. Most folks like using Altira and it's bells/whistles to check their code and see what lines up and doesn't (it's an excellent developers 800 xl xe systems emulator). Phaeron (Avery also has a manual/technical pdf that you must check out)

The mapping books et al are good to have and there are a plethora of tools for use on Windows/Linux/Mac and ways to run the in emulation/vm for stuff that is only on one OS or another.

Let the I like best because events begin :)

https://www.mads.atari8.info/mads_eng.html

https://www.wudsn.com/index.php/ide

https://virtualdub.org/altirra.html

Edited by _The Doctor__
  • Thanks 1

Some useful stuff on my site.

Serious Computerist

You'll probably want to check on the Compute books there.

Serious Computerist: Resource - Compute

The Altirra Hardware Reference on my site it a little outdated. You can get the latest here: Altirra Hardware Reference (11/29/2022)

AtariWiki is a good site too.

Edited by MrFish
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

1 hour ago, Karl G said: