IGNORED

TRON Anthology - The Remixes

DZ-Jay

As alluded to before, I prepared a music track for IntelligentVision's upcoming TRON Anthology game.

14822235_TronAnthology-TheRemixes.thumb.png.719fa5ca1759c5ec32bc4b9bc463ade1.png

I have been waiting for this program since @Rev originally announced it several years ago, so I got very excited to learn that it was finally going to be released.  I asked Rev if he would be interested in a remix to put on the menu screen or somewhere, and he accepted the offer.

I am not a musician; I am more of a DJ/Producer, so the first thing I asked Rev is if he had already a track I could remix.  He didn't, so we quickly called on the very talented @Nyuundere for his assistance, and he graciously obliged.

We started a PM convo thread with a few of the involved parties to discuss the project.

For some inexplicable reason, Rev chose Journey's "Only Solutions" song as the track to represent the TRON Anthology.  Of all the cool synth stuff made by Wendy Carlos back in the day, Journey's song strikes me as the least TRON-ish song in the entire soundtrack.  But Rev was adamant, and Journey it was to be.

My aim was to try to "TRON-ify" the song as best as I could with cool techno drums and sound effects, but there was not much time, and I had to work with what I had on hand.  What came out was more of a Disco dance track -- more Miko Mission, less Daft Punk.  I called it the "Disco Remix."

Although it was a good track, none of us were very satisfied with it, so Rev suggested to (and I quote) "make it slower, moody ... dramatic!"  I had no idea what that meant, but I buckled up tried my best.  This time, it came out more techno-ish, which was an improvement.  Yet it was still not all that we were hoping for.  I called it the "Emo Remix."