IGNORED

Troubleshooting 520ST

800_Rocks

Hi - This is my first attempt to troubleshoot any ST.  Also I am a novice when it comes to electrical matters and I don’t know how to read a schematic so please go easy on me 😁

This 520ST came to me with a frozen power rocker switch (in the off position) and an original PSU that I measured showing the 5V pins were putting out 14V instead of 5. So bought and wired-up a new PSU and I replaced the rocker switch with a new one. When I fired it up for the first time I got a glorious desktop screen!!!!  I was so excited!!  I switched it off, plugged-in the mouse and switched it back on. Nothing. Removed mouse.  Nothing and nothing ever since. 

I took power readings at the pad circled in red on the back of the PCB with and without the 520 power rocker switch on (see images below). Do my power readings seem normal?  Is 30V on the two ground pins normal when on?  For all my power measurements I had the black probe on the ‘COM’ terminal of my new PSU and the red probe on the individual pins on the back of the 520 PCB. The pins that I believe are the 7 pins of the power connector. Is my method of testing the power on these pins valid (black probe on the PSU ‘COM’ terminal)?

=====
Picture of the PCB for identification. Shown with diagnostic cart inserted. When I got the one and only boot to a desktop I did not have the diag cart installed. I was just seeing if the diag cart made any difference.  It does not. 

77AEA081-AB21-4FB4-B7CE-41FC3DA18A1A.thumb.jpeg.f06ec3119b1fa0bc27258bcc66c55267.jpeg

I believe the 7pins circled in red are for the power connection. These are the pins I read the voltages for. My multimeter black probe was on the ‘COM’ terminal of the PSU. 

D5A81E85-4E75-4395-B658-5FE14ECDA37C.thumb.jpeg.1ea87c94039f5f7aefb288b83fffbeca.jpeg

My voltage readings on the pins from Left to Right with 520 switch both off and on. Do these readings look OK/normal?