IGNORED

How accurate are the 5200 games "converted" to run on Atari8bit computers as XEX's?

RockLobster

2 hours ago, RockLobster said:

I'm new to the Atari 8bit computer world and have seen lots of the 5200 games converted.  Since I don't have a real 5200, how do they compare to real games for those of you familiar w/ the games and converted versions?

They're pretty much exactly the same.  The A8 and 5200 are close enough in terms of hardware that conversions (regardless of direction) are generally interchangeable.

The one immediately-noticeable difference will be in how the games control.  Since the A8 used digital joysticks and the 5200's were analogue, games can feel like they play very differently depending on which platform you may (or may not be) used to.

One important thing to keep in mind was that Atari was really good at needlessly doubling up on development work, with the end result that certain games had significantly different versions between the A8 and 5200.  Dig Dug, Pac-Man, and Qix are good examples of this: the 5200 versions either have superior gameplay, features missing on the A8 version, or both.

45 minutes ago, x=usr(1536) said:

They're pretty much exactly the same.  The A8 and 5200 are close enough in terms of hardware that conversions (regardless of direction) are generally interchangeable.

The one immediately-noticeable difference will be in how the games control.  Since the A8 used digital joysticks and the 5200's were analogue, games can feel like they play very differently depending on which platform you may (or may not be) used to.

One important thing to keep in mind was that Atari was really good at needlessly doubling up on development work, with the end result that certain games had significantly different versions between the A8 and 5200.  Dig Dug, Pac-Man, and Qix are good examples of this: the 5200 versions either have superior gameplay, features missing on the A8 version, or both.