IGNORED

TI99/4A accessing a Commodore 1541

donlafferty

Greetings. I just joined the forum because I decided to start messing around with my recently purchased C64 and my 2018 purchased TI99/4A. I actually learned BASIC in the early 80's on my mom's TI99/4A. A year or so after that I got a C64 and used that for a few years until I went to the dark side(IBM). Now that I'm back in the realm of 80s computers I wondered if anyone has ever figured out how to connect a 1541 to the TI. 

I have a feeling they would need a hardware adapter but I know nothing about the way the TI talks to drives and only know a little about the C64.

I have also thought about connecting an early PC drive since it appears the TI drives are similar.

My end goal is to be able to use my PC to move files to a floppy so I can read them into the TI. I think I have the 1541 to PC figured out.

Thanks if anyone has info on this.

Don Lafferty

Heya Don.  I'm far from a hardware expert but I do know enough to know that the 1541 is essentially a separate computer in it's own right (from what i heard CBM had trouble hammering out some code so they wound up with the brute force approach that we are familiar with). 

Taking a wild guess, if this were to work it would probably have to be over serial. 

Just now, WhataKowinkydink said:

Heya Don.  I'm far from a hardware expert but I do know enough to know that the 1541 is essentially a separate computer in it's own right (from what i heard CBM had trouble hammering out some code so they wound up with the brute force approach that we are familiar with). 

Taking a wild guess, if this were to work it would probably have to be over serial. 

Thanks and yes, the 1541 has a 6502 in it I believe and for the reason you state. I'm not sure if the TI has an serial capability but maybe in the expansion adapter.

15 minutes ago, donlafferty said: