IGNORED

Exxos's H5 Phoenix motherboard project!

Linking to a thread over at Atari-Forum, talking about Exxos's (Chris Swanson)

H5 Phoenix motherboard replacement project.

Like Stormy (the OP), I'm surprised at how this isn't being talked about a lot

more.

Take a look - you might be pleasantly surprised.  :)

https://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=42588

• Like 2
  • Confused 1

I started one and I literally ran out of steam.  The through-hole stuff didn't really bother me it was the couple surface mounted items that I have no idea if they're on the board correctly or not.  Luckily the "bird seed" was pre-installed.  In my humble opinion, its not a project to take on if you're a total noob like me.

I'm actually far more interested in the ST-ATX project but sadly the Phoenix might have scared me off from even trying that.

IMG_7451.jpeg

• Like 1

3 hours ago, swatcop said:

I started one and I literally ran out of steam.  The through-hole stuff didn't really bother me it was the couple surface mounted items that I have no idea if they're on the board correctly or not.  Luckily the "bird seed" was pre-installed.  In my humble opinion, its not a project to take on if you're a total noob like me.

I'm actually far more interested in the ST-ATX project but sadly the Phoenix might have scared me off from even trying that.

That does look tricky to make. You would need good eyesight and magnification to complete that I think. And lots of time...

3 hours ago, TZJB said:

That does look tricky to make. You would need good eyesight and magnification to complete that I think. And lots of time...

you're correct on both... and a steady hand.

I found the material used on the PCB didn't seem to want to take solder either.  Used a lot of flux which further complicates things.

34 minutes ago, swatcop said:

I found the material used on the PCB didn't seem to want to take solder either.  Used a lot of flux which further complicates things.