IGNORED

Composite Video Mod AY-3-8610

Hi All,

I have a Binatone TV Master Mk10 Pong system, the chip used is a AY-3-8610.

I'm trying to add a composite video mod, I've bought the fairly common board:

https://www.pcbway.com/project/shareproject/Thumbnail_board_for_Atari_2600_7800_RF_composite_modification.html

I've found a few tutorials done on earlier models but haven't yet found anything on this specific model. I believe I need to find a a common point on the boards where the various video signals are combined with the sync. I believe the pinout for the chip is:

IMG-20230512-183301.jpg

So for example pin 7 and 8 or the left and right player video signals. Using a multi-meter I was unable to trace a point on the board that is common for pins 2, 7 and 8.

Is anyone able to help me identify where I should be soldering to pick up the video signal. Here are some photos of the mainboard and the chip:

IMG-20230513-100831.jpg

Looking at the image above, the array of 10 solder points on the left hand side are games switches so can likely be eliminated, and the rightside of the board are option switches and the power input, so I am fairly certain that what I am looking for is around by the main ship.

IMG-20230513-100914.jpg

The manual also has this diagram for the board:

IMG-20230512-183301.jpg

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Edited by spacebiscuit
update to images

So I actually managed to get something working, using a multi-meter it was pretty straightforward to pick up 5-6v and a ground/negative.

Then using pure brute force I touched the video cable on various solder points I suspected could be handing the video, I picked up a video signal around the modulator and although it is acceptable it was a little wavey around the white court border areas.