IGNORED

Is there a bug in Shanghai (Activision)?

markmiller

I'm new to the game. I didn't think I'd like it, but I guess I do. I was playing it in solitaire mode for an hour or two yesterday. :) However, now I'm stuck. According to the instructions, the game will end either when all the tiles have been removed, or when there are no more moves to make. I'm down to 44 tiles (so, I expected it to get easier), but I can't find any more moves to make. The game isn't ending. I'm wondering if the game isn't detecting that no more tiles can be removed, or if there's a move I'm missing.

Are there any good Mahjong players in the house? :) I'm not asking for anyone to point out a move. Though, maybe a hint would be welcome.

Thanks.

Shanghai (Mahjong) screen.jpg

Edited by markmiller
  • Like 1

I'd have to look that screen over a little closer than I really have time for at the moment, but to be able to move, a tile has to have nothing on top of it and it needs to be free on either the left or the right.

Either way, it seems really strange that it would just sit there if there were no more available moves. Most mahjong games will notify you if there are no more possible moves, so I would suspect that there is a move there that you're just not seeing.

It looks like there is a show moves option under the special menu.

Edited by bfollowell

21 minutes ago, MrFish said:

I've played this game quite a few times. From what I recall, it doesn't actually tell you if you have no more moves left unless you select "show moves" from the "special" menu.

Okay, thanks. That was it. I just checked "Show moves," and it said there are no moves left.

2 minutes ago, markmiller said:

Okay, thanks. That was it. I just checked "Show moves," and it said there are no moves left.

Yeah, it really should show you automatically; but that's how it works in this version. Not a deal breaker though; it's still a decent version, with some pretty-nicely designed tile graphics/intro, etc.

• Like 1