IGNORED

PAL Intellivision repair questions

Hi!

I am trying to repair my childhood Intellivision console, a PAL 3668 revision. It has been in storage for over 30 years, and I have not yet plugged it in and tested it. I want to inspect the board first, and see if there are any potential errors before running power through it. I have very little knowledge of electronics and soldering, so obviously I have some questions..

First, I found this component that seems to be leaking:

intellivision3668_3.jpg

I did a search, and this seems to be a 4.000 Crystal Oscillator. Does that mean a 4Mhz crystal like this would be a valid replacement?

https://www.digikey.com/en/products/detail/ecs-inc/ECS-40-20-4X/827537

Here are photos of the board from the top and bottom:

intellivision3668_1.jpg

intellivision3668_2.jpg

The underside has these brown splotches that look like leaks as well. Should I be concerned about these too?

Should I also open the RF housing and inspect it?

Any help would be most welcome!!

Edited by superrune

The brown splotches are the rosin seeping out of the solder over time, I believe. Just carefully scrape off the hard, dried rosin and finish cleaning with some ISO and a Q-tip or something else. These solder joints and every other visible soldered joint should be inspected and soldered if they look bad or have little solder left. Your board actually looks pretty good compared to the many Logic Boards I have taken apart.

The crystal could also just be coated with this rosin and not be leaking. Carefully clean and inspect to determine if the crystal is leaking and bad. These crystals seem to be very durable and rarely need replacing. But I have never taken a PAL Logic Board apart either.

It would also be highly recommended that you replace transistors Q1 and Q2, all electrolytic capacitors, and check the voltages from your power supply board. There are links on this forum to obtaining repair manuals, etc.

• Like 1

Thanks for answering!