IGNORED

anyone know how to disable Deskmate upon startup?

newTIboyRob

Hi, when I turn on my Tandy 1000 TL/3, it autoloads the pre-installed Deskmate program.  I will soon be getting an MS DOS disk, a Utilities disk and Deskmate floppies. 

Does anyone know how to prevent that aforementioned pre-installed Deskmate from autoloading upon startup?  I would just like the choice of either insterting/loading the DOS disk should I want to use that for anything, or inserting the Deskmate disk/s if I want to use those. (I wouldn't even mind removing that Deskmate altogether and just running that program from the disks, but I don't know how to do that either, so for now is it best to just leave Deskmate on the comp?) 

I still want to be able to have a choice upon turning on the computer, which I am new to as you can see. 

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

This is a vague memory... Hold down either <SHIFT> key on boot up and see if that bypasses the autostart. I don't remember if there is a setting in the BIOS about having Deskmate autostart. In a typical DOS system, the AUTOEXEC.BAT file is used to tell the system what programs to run after bootup. 

Michael

I found the User's Guide on Manualslib. https://www.manualslib.com/manual/817770/Tandy-1000-Tl3.html#product-1000 TL3

You'll need to create a free account to download it. It says that Deskmate is on a ROM. Although, It's not the complete programme. There is a setup disk that came with the computer. You'll need it to setup several options. Including whether Deskmate boots or MS/DOS 3.3 Boots. So, what I gather is that the setup disk is a crucial disk to have. And you'll need it to change the option from booting to DESKMATE to DOS.

Michael

Edited by Michael Kline
  • Like 1

With (most of) the Tandy 1000 series computers, there is a setup program that allows changes to the BIOS settings. There is no other way to access this menu (and change settings) without the setup program.