IGNORED

ST Basic ?

On 8/25/2023 at 7:41 PM, LostCause said:

I am new to Atari ST programming. I'm also working with STOS Basic and plan on giving GFA a shot. Right now I'm just learning the system.

Thank you.

On a lot of systems, the included BASIC is integral to the operation of the system.

But ST is not one of them,  I'd argue that ST BASIC is completely optional to the functioning of an ST,  I've never found anything of significance writing in it.   I agree with @DarkLord that if you want to learn BASIC programming on ST,  both STOS and GFA are much more popular and useful

1 hour ago, LostCause said:

I know Basic. Basic is Basic regardless of dialect or system. If I brought home an Atari ST back in the 80’s, I don’t think I would be using GFA or STOS anytime soon. Is this Forum for Retro Systems and Programming or am I mistaken.

Actually, you are kinda/sorta mistaken.

There is a sub forum specifically for ST programming.

Also, you seem to have some misconceptions about a few things based on what you just posted... which is why people are trying to steer you on a more productive course.  That said, follow your own path.  Just don't necessarily expect a lot of assistance with a programming language that pretty much no one used on the ST and know that people won't be able to resist "steering you right" since that seems to be how society works now.

(I mean, remember the days when journalism was about telling you what was going on and not tons of articles about how you're drinking the wrong water and breathing wrong?)

• Like 1

3 hours ago, LostCause said:

I know Basic. Basic is Basic regardless of dialect or system. If I brought home an Atari ST back in the 80’s, I don’t think I would be using GFA or STOS anytime soon. Is this Forum for Retro Systems and Programming or am I mistaken.

Hmm, so okay - you're wanting to relive/simulate the moment a person opened up their brand spankin' new Atari ST and dived into the software that came with it, I take it?