IGNORED

Possible to stream VCS to phone?

MrTrust

One thing I enjoy doing with the VCS in PC mode is using Steam Link to play games on my phone if there's no available TV in the house, or if I have to be in a rook without one.  Works great; I just connect the modern controller to my phone VIA bluetooth, connect the phone to the VCS/Windows via Wi-Fi, and away go.

What sucks is I can't access any of my VCS games this way, obviously.  Pretty sure of there was a built-in way to do this through the native VCS OS, we'd have heard about it by now, but is it possible to find a workaround through Linux in PC mode?  I know it's a breeze to boot the games, and I assume there's a way to configure the controller in Linux, but is there any way to send A/V I/O between, say Debian and the phone?

Has anyone tried doing something like this?  It might be a dumb question; I don't know.  I just grabbed one of those USB sticks the other day, and this is my first time trying to learn any common Linux distro.

12 hours ago, PowerDubs said:

That would be ideal, but I'm not going to go blue holding my breath for it.  Do it it locally, I would think you'd only need something like a remote desktop session and boot the games through Debian or some other Linux distro.  Then, you would need some way to map the controller since the OS doesn't appear to recognize it, but I have a hard time believing a workaround to do it on your home WiFi would be out of the question, but I'm pretty ignorant about Linux specifically, and networking in general.   

49 minutes ago, zzip said:

Can Steamlink be used in PC Mode?  I've never used it, but can it be exteded to non-Steam games?

Well, like I said, it works just fine in PC mode under Windows.  I haven't tried it in Debian, if that's what you're asking here.