IGNORED

Why are some 7800 games expensive?

DhaemonX

I have been collecting games since the late-1980s, and I have literally only ever seen one Atari 7800 game  for sale -- Pole Position, the pack-in title. This was found in a dump bin at a used game store in Ottawa in about the mid-1990s.

I do not recall having ever seen the system new at retail in a Canadian store. Distribution in Canada was far from widespread. As noted, sales were never high. Therefore the supply of used games is going to be consequently very limited, leading to higher prices.

Canadian Collectors FAQ v.0.04beta

3) Atari 7800

Atari 7800 Hardware
- was sold here by Toyville and Toys 'R' Us, K-Mart, and Toy City

Atari 7800 Games NOT Sold in Canada (needs confirmation)
Alien Brigade
Barnyard Blaster
Basketbrawl
Commando
Crack'ed
Fatal Run
Ikari Warriors
Jinks
Kung Fu Master (Not sure about this)
Mat Mania Challenge
Mean 18 Ultimate Golf
Meltdown
Midnight Mutants
MotoPsycho
Ninja Golf
Planet Smashers
Rampage (Not sure about this)
Scrapyard Dog
Tank Command (Not sure about this)
Water Ski (Not sure about this)
Xenophobe

http://www.cgcc.ca/articles/view.php?article=Canadian Collectors FAQ

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...