IGNORED

Examples of Platformer Games on Vectrex

Skeleboy

Hi everyone! I'm an artist and aspiring gamedev who recently started planning a platformer game where every couple of stages the overall style changes. The styles in question reference old school console graphics such as the NES, the GameBoy, the Atari 2600 and such. 

With that in mind, the Vectrex was also a console that caught my attention for its unique look and I figured it would be cool to reference it in game too, however I'm having trouble finding games that could serve as inspiration for the visuals. Most games, be it original or homebrew, usually boil down to space shooters or arcade games, which are cool, but usually lack background visuals akin to what platformers usually have. I did find a game that spiked my interest in its visuals, "Vector Patrol", an arcade game and a shoot'em up at that, but it has really cool visuals, scrolling backgrounds and even some holes you need to jump over, so pretty much what you'd find in a platformer. But since that's the only one I could find I figured I'd ask more experienced people on the matter, can anyone point me to the right direction?

• Like 1

• 3 weeks later...

My advice to you is to not set your goals so high for your first vectrex project.  Vector Patrol and VecFever's emulated port of Vector Kong are pretty much unobtainable goals for mere mortals.  These are like Vectrex god level developer goals.

Get your feet wet making the simplest things you can first, and keep going if you are having fun.