IGNORED

600XL Mechanical Keyboard Repair

joeatari

I have a 600XL with an AWC 100001 mechanical keyboard that I am trying to repair.  I have cleaned everything and re-flowed solder to the connectors.  I re-seated the 4051 chips.  

Everything now works with the exception of the A S D E keys.  I'm so close!  

In researching this I have noticed others placing some jumper wires to repair these.  I'm not experienced with this.  Any hints on what is the best way to trouble shoot this keyboard?  The traces look like they are in good shape.  I don't see any physical damage.  I have used a jumper wire to check to make sure it is not the key switches.  These keys do not work when jumpered, but the others do, so I do not think it is the switches.  Thanks!

When you mentioned the problem keys and said A S D, it looked promising, as all of those are on the same row in the keyboard matrix, then you threw E into the mix and that screwed up that theory.

Something else you can try is to swap your 4051 chips and see if the problem keys move to other keys and your original bad keys start working. If so, your problem is as simple as a bad 4051, readily available and fairly cheap. It's worth a shot.

I've said this many times and will still stand by it 100%. It has yet to fall me... 

Get a multimeter, and check continuity from each key contact on the flex mylar circuit to the edge that plugs into the connector. 

Anywhere there is a break/open you start to narrow it down, closer and closer until you pinpoint the exact open.

Then use some copper trace paint (I just get mine from automobile rear-window defroster repair kits, permetex works great!) to bridge the gap. Sometimes there are many!  I use a toothpick to paint the trace. 

Be patient and use the multimeter... pinpoint, paint it. And repeat.  Until you have a full continuity reading on your multimeter for each mylar key contact.

Plug it in, and you are good to go.