IGNORED

4 port 5200 displays only a black screen or garbage after displaying the boot up splash screen

Satoshi Matrix

Hey all, I'm new to the 5200, snagged a nice looking 4 port model that was complete in the box along with five games. I was anticipating dealing with the infamous controllers, but it's got a more immediate problem: none of the games work. I have connected it all through a CRT via it's oddball switchbox and get a stable RF image from it with the Atari logo and the name of the game for a few seconds, but then when the actual game should boot up, I either get a completely black screen or I get garbage graphics all over the screen.

I thought it might be a dirty cartridge connector since after all, the 5200 doesn't have any sort of cover. I cleaned out the cartridge connector with isopropyl and contact cleaner. I'm still experiencing the same issues. Because the boot screen shows up, I know there's no problem with the RF signal. Any advice on how to proceed? I didn't expect to be stopped at "no games will even display!"

Thank you.

@bent_pin is on the right track here in that it could be one of the RAM chips along the left side of the console, but it could also be one of the main ICs and I would start with the CPU first and then move to the ANTIC/GTIA. I'm leaning more towards the RAM or CPU since you are getting the initial startup logo to appear with the game name and it only gives a black screen just after. So that tells me that enough of the video side is working to give you something more to work with once you get past the boot up issue.

4 hours ago, bent_pin said:

Have you cleaned the cartridges too?

Does each cartridge properly display the name of the game, or just some?

Q1, Q2, and Buck are fine if it boots that far. Could be a memory issue or a display chip. Did you purchase it as tested/working?