IGNORED

TurboForth booting with odd error

Hello All,

So I've just purchased a Ti/99 and being a pretty hardcore programmer I wanted to get started.
I found out that I didn't have (it seems) enough memory to run much with a stock TI so I purchased a 32k memory upgrade from The Brewing Acadamy.
I also purchased a FinalGROM cart to store the TurboForth cart on.

Unfortunately I'm seeing the error below. I do know that on emulator it boots with the TurboForth logo showing.
Also I'd be interested in purchasing a real Forth cart (I saw a few implementations) but I'm not sure if they require additional hardware.
I can only write to tape currently for storage, I'm a bit tapped out for cash after the RAM and FinalGROM upgrades.

I'm a hardcore Lisp fan but Forth sure seems interesting from what I've poked in.

TurboForth.jpg

• Like 2

16 minutes ago, Pixel_Outlaw said:

Hello All,

So I've just purchased a Ti/99 and being a pretty hardcore programmer I wanted to get started.
I found out that I didn't have (it seems) enough memory to run much with a stock TI so I purchased a 32k memory upgrade from The Brewing Acadamy.
I also purchased a FinalGROM cart to store the TurboForth cart on.

Unfortunately I'm seeing the error below. I do know that on emulator it boots with the TurboForth logo showing.
Also I'd be interested in purchasing a real Forth cart (I saw a few implementations) but I'm not sure if they require additional hardware.
I can only write to tape currently for storage, I'm a bit tapped out for cash after the RAM and FinalGROM upgrades.

I'm a hardcore Lisp fan but Forth sure seems interesting from what I've poked in.

TurboForth.jpg

As far as I know all the Forth systems for TI-99 expect a disk drive.

That was always the classical Forth system back in the early days. 

Forth was the CPU, RAM, I/O devices (terminal) and virtual memory disk system. 

So you can explore a lot of stuff in the kernel, but you can't save anything as far as I know.