IGNORED

Trying to fix an Atari XLF 800 Freddie

Greetings to all , I am new to Atari but very old to retro computers. They are excelent machines to explore. I took a problematic ATARI 800 XLF from ebay. This is its story...

I have an atari 800XLF freddie pal and I have a PROBLEM with frequencency at Y2. The Atari has no signal screen with blinking sound at vga out and garble - black screen at RF out. 

I measure the crystals out off board and they were as it should be, BUT in the board the Y1 is measuring ok and the Y2 measures 443Khz which is 4,43Mhz divided by 10.

Is it normal ? I replaced the two near to clock sn74LS... gates also but nothing.

At my attached pics are:   1-the Freddie Board     2-The Y2 hooked,    3 - Y2 measure,    4-Y1 hooked,   5 Y1 measure,   6 an other output frequency measure output for GTIA maybe

The machine came with missing 1st dram chip and I put a new MT4264 while the other 7 drams are KM4164 . I am intending to add sockets for all 8 drams and change them all for being sure soon. 

Also I changed the big caps and the DC voltage in board is 4,7. 

Could you recomend me any solution or what I can check ? 

Thank you! 

1.JPG

2 (2).JPG

3 (2).JPG

4.JPG

5.JPG

6.JPG

Posted (edited)

I am waiting about km4164B Samsung drams,

so 1st is to test these using sockets. Also my mix KM4164A with MT4264 is not good as I have seen in the address and data lines in my scope.

2nd, I have a working XL 800 Atari and I can try swap the 5 main chips : GTIA      POKEY ANTIC     SALLY     PIA    except Freddie because I have not any Freddie. Then I will see whats going on..

But.... this measurement is it right? Why it is ON THE CRYSTAL LEGS a different divided by ten frequency ? WHY? 

Edited by ataridns

1 hour ago, ataridns said:

But.... this measurement is it right? Why it is ON THE CRYSTAL LEGS a different divided by ten frequency ? WHY?