IGNORED

16K Vic 20 character redefinition?

Hello all.  I'm new to the Vic and I need to know how to redefine characters , but with the 16K memory expansion.

I watched a video on youtube of a guy defining a smiley face character, and attempted to do the same but it wouldn't work, seems only works in 3.5k.

Anyone got any pokes numbers I could use some help?  

Thanks in advance.

ahhhh crap.

https://sleepingelephant.com/~sleeping/ipw-web/bulletin/bb/viewtopic.php?t=7905

I was gonna redefine chars and compile a game using Austro Compiler but that compiler doesn't take a new start-of-basic location into account , so i can't have redefined characters.

Well, that's fudged that then.  

How on earth did this fucking computer win the price war.

Have you considered some other compiler than Austrocomp? For instance MOSpeed which was mentioned in the other thread should support VIC-20 and provide decent results.

Technically there are a few ways to solve it, of which the easiest one would be to move start of BASIC forward from $1200 to $1400, giving room for 64 characters. However it would need to be done in a two step process, where the loader first moves the pointer, then executes the program at the new address which itself would define the graphics.

There is an unused memory hole at address 673 - 767 (slightly smaller on the C64: 678 - 767). You can fit 11 characters between 680 and 767, which match symbols 85 (capital U) to Pi and the triangle following it. You would use POKE 36869,248 to get there, but unfortunately you have no access to character ROM nor any other RAM at that point so the entire character generator would rely on whichever data is between address 0 - 1023. A lot of it is used for the system, so you would find yourself limited to a game with 11 symbols for everything.