IGNORED

I bought one of those Atari 10 in 1 games joystick units

tiw

just to see how they did it. It has 10 games in it 4 AA batteries in the bottom, and power, reset, select and start switches on the front.

I took it apart and there wasn't much inside. It has two chips under the black "blob" os stuff to seal the bare chip. One I assume handles the tia function and the other is probably ROM and game storage. It has 1 or 2 transistors , bunch of resistors and a few caps, that's it! I was thinking of Retrocon and his effort. If they casn do it in China, we should be able to do it also and better! I am still learning the hardware and unfortunately am not a programmer! The 10 in 1 joystick has one video and 1 audio cable coming out with RCA jacks. Games included are: Gravitar, asteroids, Realsports volleyball, Centipede, Adventure, Pong, Missile Command, Breakout, Yar's revenge, and Circus Atari. Actually the things works ok with pretty good joystick movement. http://www.jakkstvgames.com/

Now if someone smarter than I could figure out how to tap into this ting with a memory stick cartridge, a lot of the work is already done in this thing. What do you guys think?

from what ive heard off hand, its not an emulator, as that wouldve required a semi-hefty pc to handle (certainly something that would cost more than 20 bucks to mass produce).

Exactly right. None of these all-in-one controller game systems actually emulates the original code. That's why so many people have complained about their inaccuracies. Definitely the hardware isn't powerful enough to really do emulation.

Naturally, someone COULD engineer a 2600's hardware into a form this small nowadays, but the R&D would be prohibitively expensive for a piece of hardware that sells for $20. So there's a somewhat standardized hardware system that runs in most of these, and the game code has to be ported/rewritten to work on this hardware.