IGNORED

Another auction question

killersquirel

Hello,

I wasn't able to go to the last auction in York, but I plan on going to the auction on the 31st in Cherry Hill. My main question is how are they run? I have never been to an auction and only have seen them from movies. Do you have a paddle or something that you hold up when you bid? The auction on the 31st is an US Amusements auction. I have read from various posts to bring a long extension cord. Is there any other tips? Is anybody else going to the auction on the 31st?

-mike

I am planning on going to the auction on the 31st, and will hopefully be selling a game if I can get the refurb done in time.

I haven't been to a US Amusements auction yet, but I have been to SuperAuction, so I can tell you how thier works, I assume US Amusements is the same. I have only been to a few auctions, so I am by no means an expert but I can give you some tips.

There is a preivew time in the morning, usually and hour or two where you can inspect and try out the games. Yes, you should bring your own extension cord, power outlets are provided but only enough for a few games to be plugged in at once.

If you want to buy, you must register when you get there and you are given a card with a number on it. The actual auction works just like you have seen in the movies. The auctioneer does the classic "fast talking" as he calls out the current bid. Simply hold up your number to bid. It's a little overwhelming when you first start but after a few items you will get used to it. The auctioneers at Super Auctions are pretty good, as the number of bidders for an item goes down they will make eye contact with the bidders to give them a chance to up the bid, or bail out.