IGNORED

Imagic question

zekish

Hiya. First off, this is my first time posting here so hello to all!

Now, my question. I used to enjoy Imagic games a lot. I think they made some of the best games for the 2600, along with Activision, of course. I am interested in finding out as much as I can about them. I'm not sure why, but just thought it'd be nice. I'd be interested in finding out how and why they started up, who programmed for them, and so forth.

I also have fond memories of when I entered the Riddle of the Sphinx contest. I didn't win, obviously, but it was one of the first contests I'd ever entered and it was nice of Imagic to get back to me to tell me that they got my entry but I wasn't chosen to be the winner, unfortunately. I really hadn't expected to hear from them unless I won. It's kind of like when you apply for a job and they call you to let you know you weren't hired but thanks anyway.

Don't ask me why I remember but the letter was written by a lady named Kathy Boothe. I remember stupid stuff like that in life but not what I did two days ago. Go figure. Anyways, she was cool and I'd actually written back to her a few times, discussing this and that. She turned out to be quite cool. It was almost like I had a penpal for awhile there, hehe. When you are a young kid, it's a wonder when you have contact like that back and forth with a company that you idolize.

I even sent them game ideas I had, hoping they might like what they saw and ask me to elaborate further. Kathy got back to me and said thanks, but no thanks but she wished that one day she'd pick up a box for a game one day and see that it was programmed by me, encouraging me to hang with it.