IGNORED

Homebrew Games

MikeStyle

Hi,

i'd like to know one thing: Why aren't the great programmers out there also doing games for the 7800?

I mean, there are new great games for the 2600 and 5200, but nothing new for the 7800. or am i wrong?

Is the 5200 better than the 7800? (Sorry but i'm new to these two systems.)

Would be great to get an answer to my (hopefully not too stupid ) questions.

5200 better than the 7800 - that's a matter of taste, I know what I think

Why no games for 7800 (or very few) - is the 7800 a nostalgic system for anyone really?

Isn't that why 5200 and 2600 games are still getting made, people loved those systems, grew up with them when they were younger, they embodied Atari in the 80's. The 7800 lacks that appeal.

The Atari that finally released the 7800 was not the same one that built the 2600, or the one that dominated the videogaming world - heck they didn't even like video games!!!

sTeVE, 80's boy!

You got it Jet Boot. Nostalgia. It plays a big role in homebrew development.

There are other considerations. The 5200, for example, is the same hardware as the Atari 8bit computer line, so there are already more people familiar with that.

The only 7800 info I've seen is what Dan Boris recently put up at his site. As far as which is 'better', the 7800 is more powerful, how much I don't know but one look at its visuals shows its superior ("newer") technology.

I think the major reason is that up until very recently there wasn't much information on how to program the 7800. The other problem was the encryption key for the carts. Until late last year there was no way to generate these keys, so there was no way to produce real carts that would run on an un-modified 7800.

There are some people doing 7800 development, and I think once people start learning the system, there will be more new games developed for it.

Dan