IGNORED

8K Berzerk!

Fellow Atari Man

No, I'll say first off I haven't done one--sorry--but with doing such a good job on the 2600 version as it is with only 4K, wouldn't an extra 4K ROCK?! What with it being this week's high score challenge, it's made me do a bit of thinking about it...

I'm not a programmer, so maybe some of these things couldn't be implemented anyway, but possibly more than one robot at a time could shoot, there could be several more mazes, or maybe even the sprites could be smaller so you could get bigger mazes like the arcade (I know some games just flat-out can't be done, like the occasional post about why it'd be very difficult to get the first level of Donkey Kong to look more like the arcade original), rather than the smaller, somewhat claustrophobic ones you get here in this version, and/or maybe get the robots to fire diagionally.

Any takers? :)

Honestly, except for possibly diagonal firing by the robots, I don't know what else there would be to add to the game above the excellent voice additions that Mike Mika has already done.

I think there was a sequel to Berzerk called Frenzy or something(?) I have never played the game myself, but perhaps an 8k edition could be hacked/expanded as the sequel.

Either way, it'd take a dedicated programmer and great fan of the game to care enough to pull it off.

Cheers to those great hackers/homebrewers who make my life worth living. I'd buy a round of beers, but sadly we're not all together... and I'm broke. :-P

I think there was a sequel to Berzerk called Frenzy or something(?)

Yes, Frenzy was an excellent sequel: mazes contained walls that would rebound bullets, others could be shot through to make your own exit!

Evil Otto could be shot, too, with three hits...but then he'd come back even faster. More robots could appear as well (up to 25; think the original arcade only allowed 12 max).

• 3 weeks later...