IGNORED

Odd brain activity this morning...

jnice

As I was getting out of bed this morning, a homebrew idea for the 5200 suddenly popped up: "Professional" wrestling! I used to love playing the NES game "Pro Wrestling" when I was younger, and am unaware of any wrestling games attempted on the Atari 8-bit systems.

I'm not a programmer...yet (I know I've said this for over the past year and have gotten nowhere, but I do plan to learn soon), so I don't know why I was even thinking about this. I do know that the NES gameplay couldn't be reproduced for the 5200, as it would require too much use of the fire buttons...not the CX52's strong point. I also don't think it would be a good idea to make it a contest of who can move the stick around the fastest, like Decathlon.

After reading different reviews for other Atari fighting games, it would be a shame if a new homebrew like this would suffer from poor animation and control use.

Would someone out there be so kind to alter a picture of the NES "Pro Wrestling" and show us what an 8-bit version could look like (a "mock-up")? That would excite some people!

It looks like Bop N' Wrestle (not a sequel to "Rush N' Attack") has some decent graphics: Large characters, a nice ring. Then again, it was hard to tell from just a scan from the back of the box. Is this game any fun to play (it has a 5.4 rating, out of 10, at www.atarimania.com)?

Would anyone else find it humorous if a wrestling game was made that featured characters from some now-defunct wrestling organization (G.L.O.W. comes to mind)?

It looks like Bop N' Wrestle (not a sequel to "Rush N' Attack") has some decent graphics: Large characters, a nice ring.  Then again, it was hard to tell from just a scan from the back of the box.  Is this game any fun to play (it has a 5.4 rating, out of 10, at www.atarimania.com)?