IGNORED

Asteroids-The prototype question

classicgamingguy

Hi, all:

I have a few questions regarding the 5200 version of Asteroids. First, I realize it's just a prototype...how many were made? And did it ever get sold in it's retail format? How readily available is it to get or how hard?

This game has eluded me, but I understand why. How many of you own a copy of this, if anyone? Thanks, all. Help me solve my great mystery. :D

Steve

I don't think it got made at all. What survives are a few 'lab loaner' carts made for playtesting and development on site. Prototypes are usually just blank carts with eprom sockets that you could swap out the eproms as you made new builds. I don't remember ever hearing that any 'final production' models were ever made, but I am by no means an expert. That help?

I don't think it got made at all. What survives are a few 'lab loaner' carts made for playtesting and development on site. Prototypes are usually just blank carts with eprom sockets that you could swap out the eproms as you made new builds. I don't remember ever hearing that any 'final production' models were ever made, but I am by no means an expert. That help?

873516[/snapback]

Yes, and thanks. I was most curious about this, as I love the 2600 version (and all it's faults), but wanted a version for my 5200 (when I get it). Thank you, Lord Thag...

Steve

I'm assuming the prototype is virtually unattainable, therefore, what is a good Asteroids-like game I could/should get for the system?

Steve

873548[/snapback]

The only Asteroids type game for the 5200 is Meteorites. Unfortunately it's pretty rare, and it's not all that great.

You can see some information on 5200 Asteroids here: http://www.atariprotos.com/5200/software/a...s/asteroids.htm

Tempest

the 5200 version is unplayable with the standard 5200 sticks.

That's not true. It's quite playable once you get a feel for the controls. ;-)

873564[/snapback]