IGNORED

Do you use Emulation software?

lwu81

Hi I'm a student writing a paper on the evolution and history of emulation. I wanted to get a perspective from both the developers and users of emulation software. these questions are intended for a user, and shouldn't take too long.

1. What emulation systems and games do you own?

2. Which is your favorite and why?

3. Did you also play these games on the original systems?

4. Do you play emulated games that you never played on the real console systems before?

5. What do you feel you derive from the emulators?

6. How do the emulators compare to the “real deal”?

7. Do you feel emulation is harmful in anyway?

8. Why do you use an emulator?

9. How did you find your emulator and emulated games?

quote:

Originally posted by Lori:

Hi I'm a student writing a paper on the evolution and history of emulation. I wanted to get a perspective from both the developers and users of emulation software. these questions are intended for a user, and shouldn't take too long.

1. What emulation systems and games do you own?

Um ... it may make for a shorter list if I mention those I don't have or use: Nintendo 64, PlayStation, and any system post-1994. (Jaguar excluded) I don't go in much for systems that are still around, even if they're only hanging by a thread. :-)

quote:

2. Which is your favorite and why?

Wow... that's tough. It's a tie between the Atari systems: 2600, 8-bit, and ST. Why? Because I've owned all of 'em, and this is my only recourse to relive those glory days. :-)

quote:

3. Did you also play these games on the original systems?

I have owned an Atari 2600, numerous models of ATari 8-bit, and several Atari ST models, as well as a Colecovision back in the day. I've played games on all of these, of course, pretty well every game console and computer released in North America. Foriegn machines (Spectrum, BBC, Amstrad, Enterprise, etc.) I never got to use until I got full swing into emulation.

quote: