IGNORED

OK Dont hate me but. . . .

I had been using my trusty Atari w/ Dr T's KCS Omega for more than 20 years.

I haven't yet found any software that I like better, but I'm having a hard time with my 1040 STe and am afraid that one day it just won't start for me. I'm forced to make the change to my PC.

I have years worth of tracks that I need to somehow transfer over to my PC. Does anybody have any good tips for fast, safe and easy transfer from Atari to PC?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

ST uses the same filesystem for floppy as PC. But programs on ST write other information to bootsector than PC. If you copy your files to properly formatted floppy you can read it in your PC. For example copy program Kobold can write PC readable disks for you.

I haven't yet found any software that I like better, but I'm having a hard time with my 1040 STe and am afraid that one day it just won't start for me.  I'm forced to make the change to my PC.

I have years worth of tracks that I need to somehow transfer over to my PC.  Does anybody have any good tips for fast, safe and easy transfer from Atari to PC?

Thanks

958195[/snapback]

Just a thought, but with stock STs going for very cheap you might want to consider just getting a spare.

Allows you to stay in the Atari world as well... :-)

I haven't yet found any software that I like better, but I'm having a hard time with my 1040 STe and am afraid that one day it just won't start for me.  I'm forced to make the change to my PC.

I have years worth of tracks that I need to somehow transfer over to my PC.  Does anybody have any good tips for fast, safe and easy transfer from Atari to PC?

Thanks

958195[/snapback]