IGNORED

Re-writable cartridge for ColecoVision?

Pixelboy

Hello all. :)

I know next to nothing about electronics, so please forgive me if I sound like a total noob: When a homebrew author makes a console game and wants to test his game on the real hardware, he has to transfer the ROM file to a PCB, right?. Are such PCBs rewritable? If so, what kind of support hardware does one need to transfer ROM files, and where does one buy PCBs 100% compatible with the ColecoVision? Is all this stuff expensive?

Thanks in advance for any info.

Hello all.  :)

When a homebrew author makes a console game and wants to test his game on the real hardware, he has to transfer the ROM file to a PCB, right?. Are such PCBs rewritable? If so, what kind of support hardware does one need to transfer ROM files, and where does one buy PCBs 100% compatible with the ColecoVision? Is all this stuff expensive?

1011936[/snapback]

well you transfer the Rom file to an EPROM (an erasable and programmable chip) and then you put this EPROM into an PCB like these: http://www.atariage.com/store/index.php?cPath=41_71

to program the Eprom you´ll need an EPROM-BURNER of course (they´ll cost you 60$+...)

Yep, that's basically it.

Though some of us lucky ones have an In-Circuit Emulator (ICE). That's lucky as in even having the chance to buy one. At the very least they let you do single step and breakpoints. I have one which can overlay any and all 4K blocks in the Z80 address space with RAM, and which can be write-protected from Z80 accesses. So while I have to upload stuff as Intel Hex files at 9600 baud, which is a tad slow but faster than erasing an EPROM, I can even load custom BIOS ROM code if I set the switches right. The only down side is that I can't bank switch the RAM overlay.

well you transfer the Rom file to an EPROM (an erasable and programmable chip) and then you put this EPROM into an PCB like these: http://www.atariage.com/store/index.php?cPath=41_71