IGNORED

I want to develop for the 7800 / 2600

82-T/A

Hey guys,

I'm a software developer by career. I'd be really interested in finding out HOW I can set myself up with a development platform of some sort that would allow me to write games for the 7800 or the 2600. I remember seeing a cart that was for sale (Gator Cart or something???) that allowed the user to FLASH data onto the cart that could then be loaded by a 2600. I tried to buy one of these, but I was too late and they never re-released them. I REALLY REALLY want to get one or something similar. All those people who are writing games for the 2600 or 7800, what are you doing and how are you doing it?

Any help you guys can give me, I'd really appreciate.

FYI, I do have a couple of 7800s and one of them has the AUX port on the side (not sure what that's for).

Thanks!!!

The first thing you want is a Cuttle Cart 2. Not only does it support playing games off of an MMC card, it supports downloading them over a serial port at 115K baud. This means that a 128K game takes only about 10-15 seconds to download. The main debug cycle delay is in power-cycling the 7800.

I have some stuff you may want to download here: http://xi6.com/hacks/ (Hmm, looks like maybe I need to put cc2serial in there)

You can use cc2serial (here, see previous post for info) to download from command-line unix/linux/OS X. To add the digital signature, use sign78 (thread with info). I was using my own assembler (most people use DASM, but I've had my own since the mid '80s) and doing everything under OS X except burning EPROMs. I even wrote my own monitor program that worked through the right joystick port with a TTL-to-RS232 adapter board, but that was rocket science.

I would recommend using a 7800 with an EPROM mod, and a BIOS patched to ignore the digital signature. Even on a fast machine, a signing program still can take 15-20 seconds, and that would get really annoying really fast.