IGNORED

StanJr's Blog - NES Rarity Guide Project (Come help out!)

RSS Bot

Ok. I am sick and tired of not having a current, up to date, accurate NES rarity guide. Sick and tired. The Etler list is so out of touch it isn't funny, and there have been several good solid efforts in the past few years that just didn't survive. So sometimes if you want something you just have to build it yourself. And I think I am up to the task.

Using the wealth of materials from guides past and a ton of contemporary research I think we can make this work.

Goals: The purpose here is to create a modern rarity guide for all American release NES games. The Famicom is its own beast and I have little knowledge and no interest in building a guide for it. I'll leave that for someone better suited. This guide has no interest (well, passing interest at most) in prototypes or other unreleased games. Working with protos is 50% fact and 50% rumor and innuendo. I'm sure there are plenty of NES mavens who can give NES protos the time they deserve, they are not me. This guide will deal with label variations, but only once the initial guide begins to solidify. Variations breed contempt.

Me: I'm an idiot. All I know is that I have been playing and collecting NES games for about 15 years and I love love love the system and it is high time we had a guide to call rarity the way Albert and Alex so carefully constructed the VCS guide here at AA. I will get things wrong, a lot. There is plenty I do not know. Plenty. But I have the desire and the determinatin to get down to work on this and maybe make it happen.