IGNORED

Mord's Blog - Coding Days Are Here Again

RSS Bot

I started coding on the 2600 again recently. I have this horrible habit of starting it, dabbling with it, getting carried away with some aspect of it, then losing interest and dropping everything for months and months. Thus when I get back to it again... I end up not knowing what the heck I was doing.

So I start over.

Usually with some totally different idea anyway.

I have like 4-6 different game ideas in my head as a result, some more hammered out than others, for the most part with little idea if any of them are doable in their current design. Time will tell? Maybe. :ponder:

I pulled out the shell program yet again, and after releasing it on the forums, re-spotted the same error I keep forgetting to fix. For the shell itself, it doesn't matter, but if you want RAM or the TIA to retain any values past a frame you'll have to move the StartOfFrame label from where it is (next to the Reset label) to AFTER the init code. I always forget that. :P

This version has it fixed, so I shouldn't have to worry about that again. ;)

Anyway, from the shell this time I decided to start simple and build up each version to an ultimate goal. This way each version, while changing in how the kernal is drawn obviously, ends up with some reusable code to carry on. The shell for instance started by having the init code (By Andrew Davies), groundwork for overlays (From the tutorials again, although also seen in other places like Stella ML etc) and the sprite horizontal positioning code. (This incarnation from the Atari Age forums, but again originally seen on Stella)