IGNORED

5200 controllers suck

phuzaxeman

i've read a lot of opinions dogging the 5200 controllers. yes, they broke down a lot but to me the 5200 controllers were ahead of the competition during that time period.

there are a few things that i feel would have changed the whole negative vibe about these innovative controllers:

1) having the fire buttons be able to click (being made of hard plastic) rather than the sponge feel when pressed, so that way you would have better precision

2) having the analog joystick be able to center better to help games like pacman play easier

3) overall reliabilty so the joysticks wouldn't break down (i.e., buttons going out) -i'm not an expert; how to do that is another question.

had these 3 expectations been done, these controllers would have changed the whole outlook. instead of going backwards like what the 7800 design was, atari should have improved on the 5200 controller.

i.m.h.o., the 5200 controllers felt more confortable than the intellivision (gosh that thing felt to wide and thin), colecovision (also wide and that fat fire button was annoying), 2600 (blisters anyone?), 7800 (can't play star raiders with no # pad)

the joystick also was much more precise than the annoying discs from coleco and intellivision. i also still liked it better than the 7800 because of the analog feel.

looks? hands down the 5200 is best looking of the bunch. the 7800 prolines would be second.

potential? with the number pads, pause, dual option for space dungeon and robotron, analog control, 4 fire buttons, the 5200 has the edge.

in a nutshell, the whole complaint of the 5200 controllers is really overated. moreover, getting the options like the gold dots and new flex circuit make the 5200 controller so much better. games like pac man/frogger/etc should have had the keypad option to control the guy in digital fashion (using 2 for up, 4 left, 6 right, and 8 for down), which would have saved a lot of headaches.