IGNORED

SD Cards

bretthorror

So, on Boxing Day I found a sale that had $9.99 512 MB SD cards. I thought I was doing myself a favor. I could blast my own tunes and play Excite Truck! Then I just went to use my SD card when I realized something. Something very, very important.

I have no idea how to use an SD card! Where the hell do I put it in my laptop to save the data into it?! I have an Aspire 3620. I am not good with computers at all and I figured there'd be a place to just stick the card in on the side of the computer, but I see nothing. Any help would be appreciated.

If your computer doesn't have an SD Card reader built-in, as it apparently doesn't, you need to buy one.

It'll plug into a USB port, and show up as another drive in Windows Explorer/My Computer/Whatever.

Great! ;)

This sucks, it was barely worth the $9.99 for the card. Now I have to find one of these things.

Thanks for your help. There's a small slot on the side of my computer that a piece of plastic pops out of and I always just kind of assumed that's where you put the SD cards. Guess it's true about what they say when you assume...

Now I have to find one of these things.

They're easy to find at any computer store... and cheap. Just don't get ripped off and spend more than $4 - $15 for one (my current one cost 7 bucks). Just an example of some online: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16820609198 or http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16820162612 etc.

This sucks, it was barely worth the $9.99 for the card.

Well kind of... the going 'low' rate for a 1 gig sd card is about 11 bucks or so, which really isn't too much more :ponder:

If your computer doesn't have an SD Card reader built-in, as it apparently doesn't, you need to buy one.

It'll plug into a USB port, and show up as another drive in Windows Explorer/My Computer/Whatever.

Great! ;)

This sucks, it was barely worth the $9.99 for the card. Now I have to find one of these things.