IGNORED

2600 Jr. composite video

davidbrit2

I've wired up my 2600 Jr. with the directions listed here: http://www.classicgaming.com/vcsp/Question3.htm

The results were only mediocre. Connecting the Atari to my Toshiba TV through a VCR yields an acceptable picture, but connecting the Atari to my Phillips TV produces a monochrome scene that rolls and jumps all over the place. Any electronics engineers have some ideas? Is the signal too weak, too strong, or just screwed up?

Also, has anyone actually gotten this method to work? http://www.atariage.com/howto/composite.html

I tried it this way but it didn't do a damned thing. It's rather suspicious that the listed color codes by the chroma resistor are incorrect...

Is it the modification with the enormous schematic listed below the other crappy modification? If that's the one, it might be a bit much for me to dive into, since I'm not really an electronics expert.

I did the mod that features the CD4050 chip (available at Radio Shack). I did it in 1998 .. It gives a great picture on the Commodore Monitors. I have lumina and chroma out .. which when shorted together make composite video.

I have not had success with the cheap, "solder all the wires together and see what happens" mod.

I also did the two audio channel out mod .. for stereo effects. These shorted together give the standard TV sound out.

Do the mod .. it's easier than you think .. and makes the 2600 picture clear as a bell ..

Rob Mitchell, Atlanta, GA

Maybe I'll give it a shot if the chip is available at Radio Shack. I was hoping I wouldn't have to place an order with Jameco just for a single IC. Of course, I can usually find other things to add to an order from an electronics supplier. He he.

Oh, since the video is separate Luma and Chroma, that would basically make it S-Video, right? That might be cool to try, since my TV supports it.