IGNORED

Where to buy Atari computers?

Atari2008

Hey everyone,

I'm fairly new to the Atari computer scene but I've been reading about how great Atari computer games are, and I'm looking to get one. I'm looking for an Atari 800xl since it seems to be the most popular, and I wanted to know where do most people go to purchase their Atari computer? I've seen a few on eBay but a lot of the are just the computer itself without the power supply or any hookups. I'm not sure if it makes sense to get a bare computer and purchase the power supply and TV hookups separately.

Thanks!

There are advantages to buying the power supply and tv hookups separately. Here is a tv hookup that is better than stock: http://cgi.ebay.com/Commodore-Atari-TI-99-...1QQcmdZViewItem

Also, some of the stock power supplies can damage the computer if it goes bad.

http://www.atariage.com/forums/index.php?s...+power+supplies

The Power supply for the 800XL is a bit odd in that it is a DIN connector, so not easy to buy any old PSU unless you can do a bit of soldering and follow a pin out.

Other than that Best Electronics or B + C sell new Power Supplys (and new 800XLs)

I'm looking for an Atari 800xl since it seems to be the most popular, and I wanted to know where do most people go to purchase their Atari computer?

Tough to find in departments these days ;)

The last two I've purchased came from ebay. That's probably the best place to look but you can get new and refurbished atari computers from B&C.

FWIW, the two computers I purchased were XEGS. Both came complete and had great composite video output without modification. Also, I've only ever had one power supply fail on me (from a 1050). These things are still running after 30 years, so I wouldn't worry too much about getting aftermarket units.